Our Board

NHFIC is governed by an independent Board responsible for determining strategy, defining risk appetite, making financing decisions and monitoring performance.

On this page

    The Board currently comprises seven independent non-executive members:

    MemberTermStart DateEnd Date

    Ms Carol Austin

    Incoming Chair

    5 years5 June 20234 June 2028

    Ms Teresa Dyson (acting Chair)


    3 months

    5 years

    1 April 2023

    26 July 2018

    30 June 2023

    25 July 2023

    Mr Tony De Domenico OAM


    5 years10 April 20199 April 2024

    Mr Kelvin Ryan


    5 years19 July 202118 July 2026

    Ms Jane Hewitt


    3 years26 July 202125 July 2024

    Hon Richard Wynne


    5 years1 June 202331 May 2028

    Mr Nigel Ray


    5 years1 June 202331 May 2028



    Board responsibilities

    NHFIC's Board is responsible for:

    • Providing input to and approving NHFIC’s strategic direction, objectives, goals and budgets as developed by management in a manner which is at all times consistent with NHFIC’s functions under the NHFIC Act and the Investment Mandate.
    • Directing, monitoring and assessing NHFIC’s performance against strategic and business plans, approving and monitoring expenditure and reviewing and approving NHFIC's major policies.
    • Identifying NHFIC's principal business risks, ensuring NHFIC has in place an appropriate risk management framework and establishing the acceptable levels of risk within which the Board expects the management of NHFIC to operate
    • Reviewing and approving NHFIC's systems of internal compliance and control, audit, risk management and legal compliance, to determine the integrity and effectiveness of those systems
    • Approving and monitoring material (internal and external) financial and other reporting and monitoring NHFIC's operational and financial position and performance.
    • Ensuring that NHFIC's capital and reserves are sufficient to meet the likely liabilities of NHFIC and making adequate provision for default in the repayment of principal, or in the payment of interest or other charges, in connection with loans made by NHFIC.
    • Ensuring ethical behaviour and compliance with NHFIC’s own governing documents, including NHFIC’s Code of Conduct and corporate governance standards.


    Full details of the Board's responsibilities are set out in the Board Charter.


    Board members

    Member Term of appointment
    Teresa Dyson

    Teresa Dyson | Acting Chair

    Teresa is an experienced company director and chair following over 20 years practising as a senior taxation lawyer advising on infrastructure transactions, financing, corporate tax, mergers and acquisitions, the not-for-profit sector, and tax controversy matters.

    Teresa is currently a director on the boards of Genex Power Ltd, Seven West Media Ltd, Shine Justice Ltd, FARE, Energy Queensland Ltd, Gold Coast Hospital and Health Board and Brighter Super. Teresa is also a member of the Takeovers Panel and the Foreign Investment Review Board.

    Teresa has formerly served as the Chair of the Law Council of Australia, Business Law Section and has also been a Partner at Deloitte and Ashurst (formerly Blake Dawson). She is a former Chair and member of the Board of Taxation. Teresa holds a Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Laws (Hons) and Master of Taxation from the University of Queensland, a Master of Applied Finance from Macquarie University, and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Teresa has been admitted as a solicitor in New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland and to the High Court of Australia.

    1/04/2023 - 30/04/2023 
    (acting Chair)

    26/07/2018 - 25/07/2023 (Member)

    Tony De Domenico

    Tony De Domenico OAM | Member

    Tony has over 40 years of experience across government, corporate, community and education sectors both domestically and internationally. 

    Tony is currently the Chair of Abalone Victoria (Central Zone), Chair of Plastic Oceans Australasia, Director of Common Equity Housing Ltd and Life Member of the Italian Chamber of Commerce. He is also Chairman of Bertocchi Food Group Advisory Board, a Life Member of the Urban Development Institute of Australia, and a Corporate Life Governor of The Royal Life Saving Society (ACT). 

    Tony was previously the Executive Director of the Urban Development Institute of Australia, Chair of Places Victoria, Deputy Chair of Development Victoria and has served on the Council of La Trobe University including a term as Deputy Chancellor. He was Chair of the Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute (AHURI) from 2014-18. 

    Tony has extensive diplomacy experience, serving as a trade and investment diplomat based in Milan, and from 1992-97 he was elected to the ACT Legislative Assembly where he was appointed Deputy Chief Minister, Minister for Urban Services, and Minister for Economic Development and Regulatory Reform. Tony was awarded a Medal in The Order of Australia at the Queen’s Birthday Honours List in 2018 for his contribution to urban planning, research and development in Victoria. 

    10/04/2019 - 09/04/2024

    Kelvin Ryan

    Kelvin Ryan | Member

    Kelvin was appointed to the NHFIC Board in July 2021 after performing senior roles in the construction industry since 1998. Initially he worked as a supplier with Boral Ltd and from 2003 onwards as the CEO of two of the largest residential building companies in Australia - BGC Residential and Simonds Group Limited.

    Prior to moving into the construction industry, Kelvin held senior executive positions in the mining and manufacturing sector at Downer Ltd, Fletcher Challenge NZ, Aditya Birla Canada and WMC Resources.

    Kelvin has a wealth of experience in delivering affordable housing solutions and associated financing options having presided over the financing and construction of tens of thousands of new homes and numerous residential construction projects. He holds a Bachelor of Education from the Western Australian College of Advanced Education and a Master of Science degree from Griffith University.

    19/07/2021 - 18/07/2026

    Jane Hewitt

    Jane Hewitt | Member

    Jane Hewitt was appointed a Non-Executive Director of Mirvac in December 2018. Jane has over 27 years’ experience in real estate development and asset management. She founded UniLodge in 1996 and pioneered the corporatisation and professional development and management of student accommodation facilities on and off University campuses in Australia and New Zealand.

    As an entrepreneur and founder Jane has extensive operational experience and a strong track record in developing successful partnerships in real estate and business ventures. She developed UniLodge into an operation with assets of approximately $1 billion.

    More recently, Jane has worked with Social Ventures Australia and currently serves on a non-profit board as Chair of the Beacon Foundation. She is also a founding member of the Sydney Business Alliance to End Homelessness.

    26/07/2021 - 25/07/2024